Miniature World Outlook of Tatsuya Tanaka

Tatsuya Tanaka, a Japanese artist, is known worldwide as the creator of the project "Miniature Calendar", which he began in April 2011 and continues this work till now. Every day a photo of tiny characters in modern world appears in the calendar. The main pecularity is that the real things — household items, food, stationery, clothing, shoes, etc. — acquire a completely new and unexpected meaning. A broccoli turns into a tree, a toaster into a beach, mandarin skin into a boat, and, all of a sudden, an unironed shirt becomes a boundless sea.

Tatsuya Tanaka was born in 1981 in Kumamoto Prefecture (on Kyushu Island). "I liked small plastic toys since childhood, and I loved to look at the pictures in the books", says Tatsuya.

In 2010, he started his blog as a designer. "Working as a designer, I got interested in photography. I really wanted to share my experience and some ideas with those who are also interested in photography. For example, about composition. It is more convenient to explain with the help of examples which requires a model. But I couldn't afford to hire a model for it, so I decided to use dolls instead".

If you place a doll next to broccoli, you can imagine that there is a real forest around it. If you put a figure on a dry leaf fallen from a tree into the water, you can see a quiet harbor with boats.

As Tatsuya has a lot of work, he improves the process: "I usually choose one topic and one object. An try to understand what it looks like. I photograph everything that comes to my mind until I "squeeze" all the ideas out of this object". When publishing, all these ideas, of course, get mixed for the whole April not to have all types of broccoli at various angles, and the whole November — a computer keyboard.