Finnish Fashion or This Fantastic-mad Helsinki

I have been in love with Finland since my childhood, and I am also a fashion designer, so I want to tell you a little about the street fashion of its capital — Helsinki. And also kind of undermine the universal stereotype of the boring Finns, who do not know how to dress stylishly, preferring dull gray-black palette and practical sweaters with a deer ornament.

Perhaps this publication will inspire someone, entertain and amuse others, but in any case, I hope you will not remain indifferent to wonderful Finnish fashionistas, even if some of them look like they are on the verge of decency and sense of proportion.

There is a perception that the farther a nation to North is, the more muted and understated clothes it prefers. First, it blends with the natural color type (fair skin, natural blond hair and grey or blue eyes). Secondly, Finland can't boast of developed consumer industry (so as China) or of a warm climate for seasonal fashion (as, for example, Italy). Finland is a country of thousands of lakes, a warm sauna and good fishing. Well, what fashion could be for fishing after a sauna?

I'll be honest and admit that some part of this is true. In provinces and small towns like Rovaniemi people don't like to stand out too much, and they don't even have an opportunity...
They only heard about fashion here, a usual street look is something like this:

However, if we move to Helsinki, we will be surprised...or rather much surprised!

And the first surprise is that on the streets there are so many brightly dressed people, gaudy green, bright red, sunny yellow, orange, electric... It seems like I'm on some incredible masquerade. A riot of colors, and in a single outfit in spite of the common standards of taste there can be more than three colors!