Why Folk Painting Does Not Have to Be Perfect

We live in a world of perfect projects. We are surrounded by smooth and clean surfaces of typical interiors, perfect faces look at us from the photos of billboards, they are flawless, there are equally smooth glossy fruits and vegetables in supermarkets. And we also try to become more perfect. The world demands that from everyone and everything.

And life becomes...boring. As an artist I give it my own definition: an eye can not catch anything. Imagine my surprise when I accidentally found out what happens to a person at a psychological level, when they contemplate. My intuitive knowledge was backed by scientific facts that I want to share with you.

Look at the part of the mural in the picture below and notice the movement of your pupils.

It's chaotic, you look at the pattern in a circle, your eyes move from side to side, as if catching these curls. This is because the pattern is complex and uneven, the brain can't "think through" by itself, because it is unpredictable.

Now look at the following figure.

What was the movement of your eyes? Most likely you looked to the center or, more likely, perceived the pattern immediately and entirely. Hardly anyone of you unconsciously followed your eyes over the course of the spiral (conscious actions are not considered). Why? This is a very simple, smooth, almost perfect ornament, and its perception by your brain takes much less effort, consequently there are significantly less impulses from the brain.