Incomparable Mister Finch: Amazing Works by British Textile Designer
  • Category: Ideas & Inspiration
  • Practices: Toys, Sewing

"My name is Finch — it's actually my last name... But everyone calls me that way. I like it.
I named my business "Mister Finch" to make it clear: I'm a man and I sew"

With these words the story of the British textile artist begins. Mister Finch is self-taught: his creative career was difficult, but eventually he came to sewing, it became the artist's favorite work and mission.

Mister Finch makes toys and textile sculptures: most of them are beasts and birds, insects and mushrooms that seem to have gone from the pages of "Alice in Wonderland". Some of them (especially the giant moths and spiders) can produce quite an eerie effect. So if you are afraid of insects, you'd rather not go to the workshop of Mister Finch :)

As for the workshop. The creative space of Mister Finch is an amazing place that reminds me of the room of some magician, the library of some old mansion. The artist lives in Leeds, Yorkshire... But it seems that it's not modern time but the nineteenth century. Only a computer on a desk reveals him :)

A sense of history is not accidental in the works of the master. Mister Finch draws inspiration from English folklore, in its exciting stories and warnings. "Witches who turn into animals, hares with moon eyes, a smartly dressed devil, encouraging you to go astray... Animals like humans, dressed in human clothes and shoes, and that's exactly what I create," says Mister Finch. "I imagine that at night they come alive. They dress up and help around the house an elderly shoemaker or a tired housewife."